Rotating image8

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    The Sod Cemetery

    For nearly six decades, "sod games" and the Florida State University Sod Cemetery have been a rich part of the Seminoles college football history, commemorating many of the greatest victories. 

    In 1962, as the Seminoles completed their Thursday practice in preparation to face Georgia at Sanford Stadium, Dean Coyle Moore - a long-time professor and member of FSU's athletic board - issued a challenge:  "Bring back some sod from between the hedges at Georgia."  On Saturday, October 20, the Seminoles scored an 18-0 victory over the favored Bulldogs.  Team captain Gene McDowell pulled a small piece of grass from the field, which was presented to Moore at the next football practice.  Moore and FSU coach Bill Peterson had the sod buried on the practice field as a symbol of victory.  A monument was placed to commemorate the triumph and the tradition of the sod game was born.

    Since then, before leaving for all road games in which Florida State is the underdog, all road games at the University of Florida and all ACC championship and bowl games, Seminole captains gather their teammates to explain the significance of the tradition.  Victorious captains return with a piece of the opponent's turf to be buried in the Sod Cemetery outside the gates of the practice field.

    Away from home and against the odds, Florida State sod games represent the most difficult battles on the football field.  The Sod Cemetery stands as a tribute to those triumphs, to be enjoyed by the Seminole faithful.

    The Games
    Year Opponent Score Site
    1962 Georgia 18-0 Sanford Stadium
    Georgia Tech 14-14 Grant Field
    Auburn 14-14 Cliff Hare Stadium
    1963 Miami 24-0 Orange Bowl
    1964 Georgia 17-14 Sanford Stadium
    Texas Christian 10-0 Amon G. Carter Stadium
    Miami 14-0 Orange Bowl
    Oklahoma 36-19 Gator Bowl
    1965 Oklahoma 36-19 Gator Bowl
    1966 Miami 23-20 Orange Bowl
    Texas Tech 42-33 Jones Stadium
    South Carolina 32-10 Carolina Stadium
    1967 Alabama 37-37 Legion Field
    Memphis State 27-7 Memphis Memorial Stadium
    Texas A&M 19-18 Kyle Field
    Florida 21-16 Florida Field
    Penn State 17-17 Gator Bowl
    1968 N.C. State 48-7 Carter Stadium
    South Carolina 35-28 Carolina Stadium
    Houston 40-20 gator Bowl Stadium
    1969 Miami 19-14 Orange Bowl
    Virginia Tech 10-10 Lane Stadium
    1970 South Carolina 21-13 Carolina Stadium
    Miami 27-3 Orange Bowl
    1976 Boston College 28-9 Alumni Stadium
    North Texas State 21-20 Fouts Field
    1977 Oklahoma State 25-17 Lewis Field
    Florida 34-9 Florida Field
    Texas Tech 40-17 Tangerine Bowl
    1978 Syracuse 28-0 Archbold Stadium
    1979 Arizona State 31-3 Sun Devil Stadium
    Louisiana State 24-19 Tiger Stadium
    Florida 27-16 Florida Field
    1980 Louisiana State 16-0 Tiger Stadium
    Nebraska 18-14 Memorial Stadium
    1981 Ohio State 36-27 Ohio Stadium
    Notre Dame 19-13 Notre Dame Stadium
    1982 Miami 24-7 Orange Bowl
    Ohio State 34-17 Ohio Stadium
    West Virginia 31-12 Gator Bowl
    1983 Arizona State 29-26 Sun Devil Stadium
    Louisiana State 40-35 Tiger Stadium
    North Carolina 28-3 Atlanta Fulton County Stadium
    1984 Arizona State 52-44 Sun Devil Stadium
    Georgia 17-17 Citrus Bowl
    1985 Nebraska 17-13 Memorial Stadium
    Oklahoma State 34-23 Gator Bowl
    1986 Indiana 27-13 Legion Field
    1987 Michigan State 31-3 Spartan Stadium
    Auburn 34-6 Jordan-Hare Stadium
    Florida 28-13 Florida Field
    Nebraska 31-28 Sun Devil Stadium
    1988 Clemson 24-21 Clemson Memorial Stadium
    Auburn 13-7 Louisiana Superdome
    1989 Florida 24-17 Ben Hill Griffin Stadium at Florida Field
    Nebraska 41-17 Sun Devil Stadium
    1990 Penn State 24-17 Joe Robbie Stadium
    1991 Michigan 51-31 Michigan Stadium
    Texas A&M 10-2 Cotton Bowl
    1992 Clemson 24-20 Clemson Memorial Stadium
    Georgia Tech 29-24 Bobby Dodd Stadium/Grant Field
    Nebraska 27-14 Orange Bowl
    1993 Florida 33-21 Ben Hill Griffin Stadium at Florida Field
    Nebraska 18-16 Orange Bowl
    1994 Notre Dame 23-16 Citrus Bowl
    Florida 23-17 Louisiana Superdome
    1995 Notre Dame 31-26 Orange Bowl
    1997 North Carolina 20-3 Kenan Memorial Stadium
    Ohio State 31-14 Sugar Bowl
    1999 Florida 30-23 Ben Hill Griffin Stadium at Florida Field
    Virginia Tech 46-29 Sugar Bowl
    2001 Virginia Tech 30-17 Gator Bowl
    2003 Florida 38-34 Ben Hill Griffin Stadium at Florida Field
    2004 West Virginia 30-18 Gator Bowl
    2005 Virginia Tech 27-22 Gator Bowl
    Virginia Tech 27-22 Alltel Stadium - ACC Championship
    2006 Miami 13-10 Orange Bowl
    UCLA 44-27 Emerald Bowl
    2007 Boston College 27-17 Alumni Stadium
    2008 Miami 41-39 Orange Bowl
    Maryland 37-3 Byrd Stadium
    Wisconsin 42-13 Champs Sports Bowl
    2009 Brigham Young 54-28 LaVell Edwards Stadium
    North Carolina 30-27 Keenan Stadium
    Wake Forest 41-28 BB&T Field
    West Virginia 33-21 Gator Bowl
    2010 Miami 45-17 Sun Life Stadium
    South Carolina 26-17 Chick-Fil-A Bowl
    2011 Florida 21-7 Ben Hill Griffin Stadium
    Notre Dame 18-14 Champs Sports Bowl
    FSU on YouTube