Men's Swimming Home

Lightning Strikes Twice As FSU's Billy Jamerson Wins Second ACC Performer Of The Week Award

FSU Has Strong Meet But Can't Take Down Defending National Champions Auburn

Florida State Swimming and Diving Sweeps Dual Meet With Florida A&M

Follow all of the college swimming & diving action at

Email this to a friend

Seminoles Cruise Through 1998-99 Season

Dec. 2, 1999

The Florida State men's swimming and diving team had a successful season in 1998-99 as they finished the season 6-1 and undefeated in the ACC. The Seminoles were ranked 9th in the final CSCAA national poll and led the ACC with a .857 winning percentage.

The Seminoles started the season with a 3-0 sweep of Miami, Indian River Community College and FAU in a quad meet at Miami. The Seminoles then headed to Raleigh, N.C., to take on the NC State Wolfpack. Four Seminoles won seven events, including Stephen Parry (400 IM, 200 Fly and 500 Free), Julio Santos (50 and 100 Free), Greg Main-Baillie (200 Back) and Brett Petersen (200 Breast). FSU trailed going into the final event of the meet but the 200 Free Relay team of Santos, Matt McVittie, Kevin Flanagan and Keam Ang won the event to clinch the victory for FSU, 123-120.

FSU hosted the Florida Gators in late November for its last home meet of 1998. The Seminoles started off finishing 2nd in the 400 Medley Relay and Danny Chocron took 2nd in the 1000 Free. Parry won the 200 and 500 Free as Santos won the 50 Free. The Seminoles took 2nd in the 400 Free Relay but the Gators gave FSU its first loss of the year, 150-92. FSU then headed to the Notre Dame Invitational for the final competition of 1998. The men finished 2nd behind the host team as four Seminoles won five events and set two meet records. Santos took two events, the 50 and 100 Free, Burkman won the one-meter springboard, Petersen took first in the 100 Breast in a pool and meet record time of 56.35 and Ang won the 200 Fly in a meet record of 1:50.25.


The Virginia Cavaliers awaited the Seminoles in the first meet of 1999. The 400 Medley Relay started the meet with a first place finish followed by Parry's win in the 200 Free. Brendon Dedekind won the 50 Free with Santos and Flanagan rounding out the top three in the event as Main-Baillie won the 200 IM. Burkman took the win on the one and three meter springboard with Parry winning the 200 Fly. Santos, Will McReynolds and McVittie took the top three in the 100 Free as Parry and Main-Baillie went one-two in the 200 Back. The 400 Free Relay won the final event of the meet, giving the Seminoles a 147-81 won over the Cavaliers.

Nine Seminoles headed to Dallas, Texas to take on five other top 20 schools in the Dallas Morning News Classic. Parry, Dedekind, Main-Baillie, Nelson Mora, McVittie, Petersen, Santos and Ang competed in the swimming events with Burkman diving for the Seminoles. The Seminoles won the Classic with Tennessee, Minnesota, Southern Methodist, Michigan and Texas rounding out the competition. Dedekind won the 50 and 100 Free and 100 Breast with Petersen and Santos winning the consolation heats of the 100 Breast and 50 Free, respectively. Parry, who was named the Most Valuable Swimmer of the meet, won four events, including the 400 IM, 100 and 200 Fly (setting a WAC record in the 200 Fly with a time of 1:44.77) and 200 Back. Burkman finished 5th on the one-meter and 6th on the three-meter in the diving competition. Parry and Dedekind teamed up with Santos and McVittie to twin the 200 Free Relay and clinch the win for the Seminoles.

The nine man squad returned to Tallahassee and joined their team in the final dual meet of the season as FSU hosted LSU. The Seminoles won 11 of the 13 events to take the win over the Tigers 155-85. Dedekind won the 50 Free and the 100 Breast with Parry winning the 100 Back and 200 Free. The other first place finishes included Chocron (500 and 1000 Free), Main-Baillie (200 IM), Ang (100 Fly) and Santos (100 Free). Glen Gonzales won the three-meter diving competition to round out the meet for the Seminoles.

The Seminoles took on the ACC in the championship meet in February, finishing 2nd, only 6.5 points behind Virginia. FSU won 11 events in the meet, including all five relays. Brendon Dedekind made ACC history as he became the 12th swimmer to win a single event all four years with his win in the 50 Free, in which he set a new pool record.. He also became only the second swimmer in league history to win double-digit events in a career as he ended his ACC career with 10 individual championships. Dedekind also won the 100 Free, setting a new ACC Conference, Meet and Maryland pool record, and 100 Breast, setting a pool record, and was named Co-Swimmer of the Meet. Stephen Parry, who shared the Swimmer of the Meet honors, won the 200 Free, 200 Back and 200 Fly in the meet and set a new ACC Record in the 100 Back. The Seminoles set new Maryland pool records in all 11 events and set new ACC Meet records in the 200 Medley Relay and 400 Medley Relay.

Florida State returned six 1998 All-Americans to the NCAA meet and had 18 swims, the most in FSU history. Despite a 12th-place finish, the Seminoles brought home another NCAA Individual title as Dedekind won the 100 Breast and repeated as a three-event All-American. The eight men produced five All-America and six honorable mention All-America honors. The Seminoles had the best finish in the state of Florida (Miami finished 13th with Florida at 17th) and in the ACC (Virginia at 14th, UNC at 30th and NCSU at 34th).

Nine members of the men's team were named to the All-ACC team after the 2nd place finish at the ACC Championships and a #9 ranking overall. Brendon Dedekind led the squad as he was named the ACC Swimmer of the Year for the third year in a row. Keam Ang, Kevin Flanagan, Matt McVittie, Nelson Mora, Brett Petersen, Julio Santos and Greg Main-Baillie also garnered the All-ACC honors.

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    Rotating image Multimedia Guide
    Printroom Photos Memorabilia
    FSU on YouTube