Men's Swimming Home

Lightning Strikes Twice As FSU's Billy Jamerson Wins Second ACC Performer Of The Week Award

FSU Has Strong Meet But Can't Take Down Defending National Champions Auburn

Florida State Swimming and Diving Sweeps Dual Meet With Florida A&M

Follow all of the college swimming & diving action at

Email this to a friend

FSU's Danny Chocron Receives John McLendon Memorial Postgraduate Scholarship Award

May 24, 2000

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- Senior distance swimmer Danny Chocron has been named a recipient of the inaugural John McLendon Memorial Postgraduate Scholarship Award yesterday. National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced yesterday that Chocron and four others from around the country would receive the postgraduate scholarship for studies in athletics administration.

Chocron graduated with a 3.19 GPA in multinational business operations with a second degree in marketing after being named to the Dean's List twice and the Atlantic Coast Conference Honor Roll. Chocron served as the President of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee for three years and represented the swim team. A four-year letter winner at FSU, Chocron has won four open water nation al titles, had two runner-up finishes and has been ranked in the Top 5 in the world on numerous occasions. He was a silver medalist in the 1999 Pan-Pacific Championships and was fourth at the 1997 games after winning two silver and two bronze medals at the 1997 Macabiah Games.


A native of Venezuela, Chocron conducts swimming clinics for under-privileged children when in his home country and also teaches at Bolles in Jacksonville, Florida. He has been a motivational speaker around the state of Florida where he talks about the importance of a balanced lifestyle and pursuing dreams and goals. He plans to defend his national title in November, then begin graduate school at FSU in sports administration in January 2001, graduate in December, 2001 and train for the 2004 Summer Olympics.

Chocron was one of three Division I athletes to receive the award. Each winner will receive a $10,000 grant to be used toward postgraduate studies in athletics administration. Funding for the scholarship program has been provided by adidas America, the American Football Coaches Associate, the Eddie Robinson Football Classic, Host Communications, Sears and NACDA. Each of the winners will receive the award at NACDA's 35th Anniversary Convention, June 11-14 at Disney's Coronado Springs Resort in Orlando, Florida. The awards luncheon will be June 13th and Michele Tafoya from ESPN will serve as the master of ceremonies. The athletes were required to have a minimum GPA of 3.0, have senior status and have demonstrated leadership qualities on an institutional or community level.

Other award winners:
Rigel Burton, University of Florida- Business Administration, 3.28 GPA
Jamila Demby, University of California-Davis, Rhetoric & Communications, 3.07 GPA
Carey Dorn, University of Connecticut- Sports Marketing, 3.74 GPA
Kyle Johnson, Ithaca College- Sports Management, 3.55 GPA

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    Rotating image Multimedia Guide
    Printroom Photos Memorabilia
    FSU on YouTube