Rotating image8
Golf To Indiana Regional
Drew Kittleson and the Seminoles play at the NCAA Indiana Regional beginning may 19.

Drew Kittleson and the Seminoles play at the NCAA Indiana Regional beginning may 19.

May 16, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( -- The Florida State University men's golf team, which has earned six top five team finishes this year, will play in its school record sixth consecutive NCAA Championship tournament at the NCAA Regional Championship at the Wolf Run Golf Course in Zionsville, Ind., May 19-21. It marks the sixth consecutive season, and sixth time during the eight season tenure of Head Coach Trey Jones, that the Seminoles will play in the NCAA Championship. The Seminoles are seeded eighth in the Indiana Region - one of six regions in the 2011 NCAA Division I Championship Tournament. The top five finishing teams in each region will advance to the NCAA Division Championship finals at Karsten Creek in Stillwater, Okla., hosted by Oklahoma State University. The Seminoles finished in second place in the 2010 NCAA Central Regional championship and in a school best third place in the 2010 NCAA Championship finals as the Seminoles enjoyed one of the best seasons by a golf team in school history.

Florida State is joined by No. 3 Alabama, No. 9 Illinois (Big Ten Champion), No. 14 Iowa, No. 22 Stanford, Wake Forest, Tennessee, Indiana, Michigan, Charlotte (Atlantic 10 Champion), Memphis, Wichita State (Missouri Valley Conference Champions), Missouri Kansas City (Summit League Champions) and Sacred Heart (Northeast Conference Champions) in the NCAA Indiana Regional Championship at the Wolf Run Golf Course in Zionsville, Ind. The Seminoles are ranked 45th nationally and seeded eighth in the region with the top five teams from the regional championships advancing to the NCAA Championship finals. Florida State is scheduled for a practice round on May 18th beginning at 8:40 a.m. and begins first round play on May 19 at 8:50 a.m. The Seminoles will play with Indiana and Michigan in the first round and be paired according to results in the second and third rounds.

Florida State University golfers Drew Kittleson and Brooks Koepka were named to the All-ACC Men's Golf Team in a vote by the league's 11 head coaches. It marks the second time both players have earned All-ACC honors in their career and the school record fifth consecutive season that two Seminoles have been named to the All-ACC team. Kittleson, who is averaging a career-low 72.30 strokes per round this season, makes his second appearance on the All-ACC team - he was also a member of the team in 2009. Koepka, who leads the team with a career low 71.73 scoring average, was also an All-ACC selection in 2010. Kittleson and Koepka are the fourth and fifth players in school history to earn All-ACC honors in men's golf multiple times during their careers. Seminole All-American Matt Savage earned All-ACC honors, a school record, three times during his career (2007, 2008, 2009) while Kittleson (2009 and 2011), Koepka (2010 and 2011), Jonas Blixt (2007 and 2008) and Christian Raynor (1994 and 1995) earned All-ACC honors twice during their careers.

The Seminoles' appearance in the 2011 NCAA Tournament marks the first time the Seminole men's golf program has made six consecutive NCAA appearances since the 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982 and 1983 seasons. Florida State played in a school record seven consecutive NCAA Tournaments from 1977 through 1983. The Seminoles will play in a regional championship for the sixth consecutive season under head coach Trey Jones. Prior to the Seminoles appearing in the last six NCAA Tournaments and prior to Jones' arrival for the 2004 season, Florida State had played in only one NCAA tournament from 1998-2006. The Seminoles have now played in six regional championships in Jones' eight seasons as Florida State's head coach.

Seminole head coach Trey Jones, the 2008 ACC Coach of the Year, will make his 10th regional championship appearance as a head coach. He took four of his seven teams at Georgia State to the regional championships and has now taken six of his first eight Florida State teams to postseason play.

Trey Jones has now led Florida State to six consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances in his eight seasons at Florida State. Prior to Jones' arrival at Florida State in 2004, the Seminoles had appeared in the NCAA Championship only twice between 1996 and 2003. Jones has now taken 10 teams to NCAA Championship play in his 16 seasons as a head coach on the Division I level. In addition to his six teams in seven seasons to NCAA play at Florida State, he guided four teams to NCAA play in eight seasons as the head coach at Georgia State.

Florida State - led by individual medalist Drew Kittleson - advanced to the NCAA Championship finals with a second place finish at the 2010 NCAA Notre Dame Region Championship on the Warren Course at the University of Notre Dame. The Seminoles established several school bests in advancing to the NCAA Championship finals including best team finish in a regional championship (second), best individual finish in a regional championship (Kittleson, first), best team score in a regional championship (834), best team score vs. par in a regional championship (plus four), number of individual scores in the 60's in a regional championship (six), and lowest tournament score in a regional championship (204 by Kittleson).

Seniors Drew Kittleson and Kyle Cobb both earned their bachelor's degrees from Florida State on April 30. Kittleson earned his degree in social science while Cobb earned his in political science.

Senior Drew Kittleson, who earned the fourth individual victory of his career at the Seminole Intercollegiate in March, was named the Atlantic Coast Conference men's golfer for the month of March along with Mitchell Sutton of NC State and James White of Georgia Tech. It marked the first time Kittleson has earned the honor and the first time a Seminole men's golfer has been so honored by the ACC.

Senior Drew Kittleson and junior Brooks Koepka have become NCAA Tournament participant regulars during their careers. Kittleson, who helped lead Florida State to the ACC title in 2008, will play in his fourth NCAA Championship while Koepka will play in his second this weekend at Wolf Run. Both players have earned top 10 finishes (Kittleson, 1st in 2010 and Koepka tied for sixth in 2009) and both have earned multiple scores in the 60's (Kittleson carded scores of 69-67-68 in 2010 and Koepka carded scores of 69-69-68 in 2009).

Florida State Men's Golf Statistics (Combined Fall 2010/Spring 2011)
Name              Tourn.   Rds    Par   -75    Low    Strokes   Avg
Brooks Koepka     11       33     13    30     67     2,366     71.70
Drew Kittleson    11       33     19    30     66     2,381     72.15
Joaquin Lolas     8        24     6     17     68     1,776     74.00
Bjorn Hellgren    7        21     5     13     70     1,562     74.38
Wesley Graham     10       30     8     21     69     2,235     74.50
Kyle Cobb         7        21     3     14     71     1,574     74.95
Doug Letson       5        15     3     5      70     1,141     76.07
Tyler Sluman      3        9      2     5      71     686       76.22

Digital Guide

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago
    Rotating image Multimedia Guide
    Printroom Photos Memorabilia
    FSU on YouTube