Rotating image8

Dec. 1, 1997

Florida State Football Sweeps ACC Honors

GREENSBORO, NC - Bobby Bowden was named ACC Coach of the Year while Andre Wadsworth earned ACC Player of the Year honors in a vote by the conference sportswriters. In FSU's sweep of the awards, Wadsworth was also named ACC Defensive Player of the Year, Thad Busby was named ACC Offensive Player of the Year and Travis Minor was named ACC Rookie of the Year.

Bowden, who collected his NCAA record 11th straight 10-win season this year, went 8-0 in the ACC and pushed his conference record to 47-1. It is the second year Bowden has won the award (1993).

"I am surprised to be picked as the coach of the year in the ACC," said Bowden. "I can name quite a few other coaches in the conference that did a better job of coaching this year than I did. I probably have as fine a group of assistant coaches as anyone in the country. It is their ability and the players that deserve the recognition."

Senior defensive end Andre Wadsworth, the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, edged out teammate Thad Busby for ACC Player of the Year honors. Wadsworth, a finalist for the Lombardi Award, recorded 57 tackles and a league-leading 19 sacks on the year. He is the first defensive player to win the award in ten years (Michael Perry - Clemson, 1987).

Busby completed 235 of 390 passes for 3,317 yards and 25 touchdowns in leading the Seminoles to a 10-1 season. The senior quarterback became the third Seminole signal caller to be named the ACC Offensive Player of the Year (Charlie Ward and Danny Kanell).

Travis Minor was awarded the ACC Rookie of the Year after rushing for 664 yards on 112 carries and scoring 11 touchdowns in his freshman campaign. Minor is the second FSU newcomer to win the award as Tamarick Vanover earned the distinction in 1993.

The ACC Awards Banquet will be held tomorrow night at 8:00 p.m. in Atlanta at the Marriott Marquis.

First-Team All-ACC
Thad Busby,      Sr., QB
E.G. Green,      Sr., WR
Tra Thomas,      Sr., OT
Andre Wadsworth, Sr., DE
Sam Cowart,      Sr., LB
Samari Rolle,    Sr., DB
Second-Team All-ACC
Travis Minor,    Fr., RB
Peter Warrick,   So., WR
Kevin Long,      Sr., C
Daryl Bush,      Sr., LB
Shevin Smith,    Sr., DB
Dexter Jackson,  Jr., DB

FSU totaled 16 selections, North Carolina had 10 and Clemson was third with nine.

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    Rotating image Multimedia Guide
    Printroom Photos Memorabilia
    FSU on YouTube