Rotating image8
Nov. 13, 1997

Florida State Players Among National Award Finalists

Sam Cowart
Sam Cowart

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- Earlier Thursday, the Butkus Award committee held a press conference to announce the three finalists for this season's honor. Among the three chosen was Florida State's outside linebacker Sam Cowart.

"It is a great honor to be one of the three finalists for this award," said Cowart during the teleconference. "I would like to thank my teammates and my coaches for making this possible. With our defense, I am in a position to make plays and I've done that."

Cowart is joined by North Carolina's Kivuusama Mays and Ohio State's Andy Katzenmoyer.

FSU has had two Butkus Award winners in the past in Paul McGowan (1987) and Marvin Jones (1992).

Football News also came out with their All-ACC selections earlier in the day, with an FSU-leading eight players selected.

Offense: Thad Busby, QB, FSU; Raymond Priester, RB, Clem; Tremayne Stephens, RB, NCSU; Torry Holt, WR, NCSU; E.G. Green, WR, FSU; Alge Crumpler, TE, UNC; Jim Bundren, OL, Clem; Tra Thomas, OL, FSU; Glenn Rountree, OL, Clem; Kevin Long, OL, FSU; Chris Gaskell, OL, WFU; Sims Lenhardt, K, Duke.

Defense: Greg Ellis, DL, UNC; Andre Wadsworth, DL, FSU; Vonnie Holiday, DL, UNC; Brian Simmons, LB, UNC; Sam Cowart, LB, FSU; Anthony Simmons, LB, Clem; Kivuusama Mays, LB, UNC; Dre' Bly, DB, UNC; Anthony Poindexter, DB, UVa; Samari Rolle, DB, FSU; Shevin Smith, DB, FSU; Rodney Williams, P, GaT.

Wadsworth was also selected as the publication's conference player of the year.

Also in postseason award contention is Wadsworth, who selected a Lombardi Award finalist with Nebraska's Grant Wistrom, UNC's Ellis and OSU's Katzenmoyer.

FSU has had one Lombardi Award winner in Marvin Jones (1992).

Thad Busby is one of five finalists for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm award, along with Penn State's Mike McQueery, Nebraska's Scott Frost, Washington's Ryan Leaf and Tennessee's Peyton Manning.

FSU's Casey Weldon (1991) and Charlie Ward (1993) are the only Seminoles to ever win the Golden Arm Award in the past.

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    Rotating image Multimedia Guide
    Printroom Photos Memorabilia
    FSU on YouTube