Rotating image8

Oct. 30, 1997

Bowden, Busby, Cowart and Wadsworth Receive Honors

TALLAHASSEE, FL -- FSU head football coach Bobby Bowden has been named one of ten semifinalists for the Football News Coach of the Year Award. Bowden's son, Tommy (Tulane), was also one of the semifinalists along with a second ACC coach in North Carolina's Mack Brown. The list will be trimmed to three on November 21st with the winner announced on December 2nd.

The Football News also released its list of 15 offensive and defensive player of the year semifinalists. FSU defensive end Andre Wadsworth and linebacker Sam Cowart were named among the 15 defensive semifinalists. Wadsworth leads the ACC (fourth nationally) in sacks with 10 while Cowart is the leading tackler on the Seminoles' top ranked defense with 77. The 15 will be narrowed down to five on November 21st and the players of the year will be named on December 2nd. FSU's Peter Boulware, a first-round draft pick of the Baltimore Ravens, was the Football News Defensive Player of the Year in 1996.

Thad Busby was recognized as one of five finalists for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented annually to the nation's top senior collegiate quarterback. Busby has completed 145 of 250 passes for 2,080 yards and 13 touchdowns in leading the Seminoles to a 7-0 record this season. The other five finalists are: Dameyune Craig (Auburn), Scott Frost (Nebraska), Peyton Manning (Tennessee) and Mike McQueary (Penn State). The winner will be announced November 26th. FSU's Casey Weldon (1991) and Charlie Ward (1993) are former winners of the Unitas Award.

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    Rotating image Multimedia Guide
    Printroom Photos Memorabilia
    FSU on YouTube