Rotating image8

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    June 2014 Archives

    July 5 is 'Jameis Winston Day'

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks
    Florida State's superstar quarterback will be honored July 5 at "Jameis Winston Day" at Gilmore-Vines Stadium in Hueytown, Ala.

    Winston, who starred at Hueytown High School before catapulting to national stardom as FSU's Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback during the 2013 national championship season, will be presented with a key to the city -- among other honors -- according to

    The hometown honor is just the latest in an ever-growing list of accolades for college football's top player.

    Athlon Sports announced its four pre-season All-American Teams Monday and 12 Florida State players are included.

    Jameis Winston, Nick O'Leary, Tre' Jackson and Cameron Erving are all first-team offensive selections while Jalen Ramsey is on the first-team defense and Roberto Aguayo is on the first-team specialists squad.

    The second team includes Rashad Greene and Josue Matias (offense) and the third team boasts Mario Edwards, Jr. and P.J. Williams (defense) and Kermit Whitfield (specialists). Karlos Williams is a fourth-team offensive selection.

    Photo: New Tucker Center court design

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks
    Here's a look at the new playing surface at the Donald L. Tucker Center for the Florida State men's and women's basketball teams:

    Bqbban_CEAAK6bF copy.jpg
    (click to enlarge)

    Video: Father's Day memories with Jimbo Fisher

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks

    FSU places second in CoSIDA media guide contest

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks
    The College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced June 11 a special recognition for Florida State's 2013 football media guide.

    As selected by a special panel, the 'Noles' guide created by FSU Sports Information personnel Kerwin Lonzo, Zach Stipe and Scott Moriak, as well as Grant Hawkins Design, placed second nationally in excellence in publications among football media guides at the FBS level.

    Screen Shot 2014-06-13 at 11.53.38 AM.png

    Video: SB Nation interview with Devonta Freeman

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks
    Courtesy of @DanRubenstein:

    Twitter has revolutionized the way fans interact with major sports and it turns out only the mighty NFL was more popular on social media in the past year than Florida State's third national championship this past January.

    According to Nielsen, the 2014 BCS National Championship game featuring FSU and Auburn generated a reported 4,392,000 tweets and boasted an audience of 10,404,000. 

    In that same time span, only the NFL's Super Bowl and AFC and NFC Championship games established a larger Twitter audience but 'Noles versus Tigers still had more tweets than those two conference title games.

    Why is all this important beyond the fact that so many people interacted socially during an event that featured the Seminoles? Because it shows the power of Twitter and why the FSU athletics department takes this medium so seriously when it comes to highlighting the Seminoles.

    All news, notes, pictures and videos about the FSU football team is shared from the program's official account at @FSU_Football to nearly 100,000 followers. So be sure to follow today and utilize the hashtag #Noles to interact with the reigning kings of college football.

    In other media news...

    Friday's announcement that Red Hills broadcasting is the new home for Florida State football, baseball and basketball games is a big deal for 'Noles fans that listen to games on the radio.

    No more scratchy AM-dial connections while the Seminoles are competing. Now fans can always find the games in clear quality on the FM dial.

    To learn more, check out the press release here

    Florida State leads the nation with five first-team selections and 11 overall selections on Phil Steele's 2014 pre-season All-America team released Friday.

    FSU's four first-team nods include star tight end Nick Oleary and offensive linemen Cameron Erving and Tre' Jackson. Kicker Roberto Aguayo and return man Kermit Whitfield round out the squad on the special teams unit.

    Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston is on the second team at quarterback and is joined by his favorite target, wide receiver Rashad Greene. Cornerback P.J. Williams is also a second-team selection.

    Running back Karlos Williams, guard Josue Matias and Mario Edwards, Jr. are each on the fourth team.

    Phil Steele's pre-season All-America team

    FSU's Kelvin Benjamin signs NFL contract

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks

    Courtesy of

    The entire 2014 Panthers draft class is now under contract after first-round pick Kelvin Benjamin and third-round pick Trai Turner signed Wednesday.

    The Panthers selected Benjamin with the 28th overall pick after the 6-foot-5, 241-pound wide receiver produced a breakout season in 2013. Benjamin recorded 54 receptions for 1,011 yards and 15 touchdowns to help Florida State capture the national title. 

    "He has a lot of upside, and he gives us a legitimate chance to have a number one receiver," general manager Dave Gettleman said. "He is a terrific kid. He has come a long way, and we are real excited to have him."

    The Panthers upgraded their offensive line with the selection of Turner, a physically imposing guard from Louisiana State. 

    "He gives us the power that we're looking for," Gettleman said. "He can displace defensive linemen. He's a tough, nasty kid. He plays that way."

    FSU recognized by Sporting News, Phil Steele

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks
    Sporting News announced Wednesday its college football pre-season All-American teams and 'Noles Cameron Erving, Tre' Jackson, Roberto Aguayo, Jameis Winston, Nick O'Leary, Kermit Whitfield and Ronald Darby were all listed. 

    Erving, Jackson and Aguayo were each named to the first team.

    Also Wednesday, Phil Steele revealed his pre-season All-ACC squad that featured a league-best 11 'Noles on the first team and 19 ovearll FSU players on all four teams.

    The first-team group included Winston, Karlos Williams, Rashad Greene, O'Leary, Jackson, Erving, Mario Edwards, Jr., Terrance Smith, P.J. Williams, Aguayo and Whitfield.

    FSU on YouTube