Rotating image8

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    Winston named Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks

    Courtesy of the Davey O'Brien Foundation:

    FORT WORTH, Texas -- Florida State's Jameis Winston has been named the Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week after leading the Seminoles to a convincing 63-0 victory over Atlantic Coast Conference rival Maryland.

    Winston equaled his season highs in passing yards (393) and touchdowns (5) while completing 23-of-32 passes against the 25th-ranked Terrapins. Florida State ended the day with 614 yards in total offense against a Maryland team that entered the game ranked sixth in the country in total defense.

    "He does as good a job of getting out of pressure and finding guys down the field as he's eluding," said Florida State head coach Jimbo Fisher. "He can transfer from his eyes to what he sees and get the ball out out."

    Winston and the sixth-ranked Seminoles will now have an extra week to prepare before their next game at No. 3 Clemson on October 19.

    Honorable Mention for Week Six

    Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC James Franklin, Missouri, SEC Garrett Gilbert, SMU, AAC Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12 Zach Mettenberger, LSU, SEC Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC Bryce Petty, Baylor, Big 12 Keith Price, Washington, Pac-12

    During the first nine weeks of the season, a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 125 FBS quarterbacks are candidates for the award until semifinalists are announced on Nov. 4. Finalists will be announced Nov. 25 and the 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on Dec. 12.

    About the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote

    Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as once daily at The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 12 on ESPN and will be honored at the 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 16-17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

    About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

    The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away nearly $900,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

    No TrackBacks

    TrackBack URL:

    Leave a comment

    FSU on YouTube