Rotating image8

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    Jameis Winston named Davey O'Brien QB of the Week

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks

    Courtesy of the Davey O'Brien Foundation:

    FORT WORTH, Texas - Florida State's Jameis Winston has been named the Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week after guiding his team to a 41-13 victory at Pittsburgh in Monday night's season-opener.

    The heavily recruited redshirt freshman out of Hueytown, Ala. lived up to the hype with a record-setting debut against the Panthers. Winston was nearly perfect completing 25 of 27 passes for 356 yards and four touchdowns while adding another rushing touchdown. His 92.6 completion percentage set a new school record, defeating the previous mark of 87.5 percent set by Danny Kanell in 1995.

    "It's one ballgame guys," said head coach Jimbo Fisher. "He played one game. That's it. But he did a great job. As long as he keeps the process in mind and keeps working with great habits, everything's going to be fine, and that's what he has to do."

    After an outstanding performance in week one, Winston and the FSU Seminoles will have an extra week to prepare before they host the Nevada Wolf Pack on Saturday, Sept. 14.

    Honorable Mention for Week One:

    David Ash, Texas, Big 12; Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC; Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, AAC; C.J. Brown, Maryland, ACC; Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC; Keith Price, Washington, Pac-12; Corey Robinson, Troy, Sun Belt.

    During the first nine weeks of the season, a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 125 FBS quarterbacks are candidates for the award until semifinalists are announced on Nov. 4. Finalists will be announced Nov. 25 and the 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on Dec. 12.

    About the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote

    Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as once daily at The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 12 on ESPN and will be honored at the 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 16-17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

    About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award

    The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $890,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

    American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award. 

    No TrackBacks

    TrackBack URL:

    Leave a comment

    FSU on YouTube