Rotating image8

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    Ronald Darby named 2012 FWAA Freshman All-American

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks

    Florida State rookie cornerback Ronald Darby has been named a 2012 FWAA Freshman All-American following his stellar first year in Tallahassee. Darby had already been named the ACC's Defensive Rookie of the Year before the 'Noles' bowl game.

    Courtesy of the FWAA:

    Pos.Player, SchoolHt.Wt.Hometown
    QBJohnny Manziel, Texas A&M6-1200Kerrville, Texas
    RB• Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech6-0215Strong, Ark.
    RB• Todd Gurley, Georgia6-1218Tarboro, N.C.
    WR Davante Adams, Fresno State6-2200Palo Alto, Calif.
    WR• Amari Cooper, Alabama6-1198Miami, Fla.
    WRJ.D. McKissic, Arkansas State5-10185Phenix City, Ala.
    TE• Devin Funchess, Michigan6-5229Farmington Hills, Mich.
    OLJack Allen, Michigan State6-1295Hinsdale, Ill.
    OLAustin Blythe, Iowa6-3275Williamsburg, Iowa
    OLJake Brendel, UCLA6-4295Plano, Texas
    OLLe'Raven Clark, Texas Tech6-5303Rockdale, Texas
    OLParker Ehinger, Cincinnati6-7290Rockford, Mich.
    OLTyler Johnstone, Oregon6-6292Chandler, Ariz.
    Pos.Player, SchoolHt.Wt.Hometown
    DLDeion Barnes, Penn State6-4246Philadelphia, Pa.
    DL• Devonte Fields, TCU6-4240Arlington, Texas
    DLSamuel Ukwuachu, Boise State6-4222Pearland, Texas
    DL• Leonard Wllliams, USC6-5270Daytona Beach, Fla.
    LBKyler Fackrell, Utah State6-5236Mesa, Ariz.
    LBCory James, Colorado State6-0235Del Rio, Texas
    LBTyler Matakevich, Temple6-1220Stratford, Conn.
    LBDenzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss5-11203Loganville, Ga.
    DBKevin Byard, Middle Tennessee5-11229Lithonia, Ga.
    DB• Ronald Darby, Florida State5-11189Oxon Hill, Md.
    DB• KeiVarae Russell, Notre Dame5-11182Everett, Wash.
    DB• Trevon Stewart, Houston5-9183Patterson, La.
    Pos.Player, SchoolHt.Wt.Hometown
    P• Tyler Williams, Marshall6-0195Fort Wayne, Ind.
    K• Austin Lopez, San Jose State6-0170Euless, Texas
    PR• Jaime Wilson, Western Michigan5-11196Belle Glade, Fla.
    KR• Duke Johnson, Miami5-9188Miami, Fla.
    AP• Stefon Diggs, Maryland6-1185Gaithersburg, Md.
    Urban Meyer, Ohio State
    • Denotes true freshman

    The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

    All-Time FWAA Freshman All-America Teams
    • 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012

    Marc AndersonLas Vegas Review JournalMountain West
    Andrew GribbleAlabama Meda GroupSEC
    Mike GriffithMLive.comBig Ten
    Rich HammondOrange County RegisterPac-12
    Tommy HicksMobile Press-RegisterSun Belt
    Blair KerkhoffKansas City StarBig 12
    Tom LuicciNewark Star-LedgerBig East
    Brian MurphyIdaho StatesmanWAC
    Phil StukenborgMemphis Commercial AppealConference USA
    John WagnerToledo BladeMAC
    Greg WallaceFreelanceACC

    No TrackBacks

    TrackBack URL:

    Leave a comment

    FSU on YouTube