Rotating image8

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    EJ Manuel named Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week

    FORT WORTH, Texas - After guiding Florida State to a 49-37 come-from-behind victory over Clemson, EJ Manuel has been named the Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week. 

    The 6-5, 240-pound signal caller had a night to remember, successfully completing 27 of 35 passes for a career-high 380 yards while rushing for an additional 102 yards. Manuel was the first Seminole quarterback to surpass 300 passing yards and 100 rushing yards since 1993 Davey O'Brien Winner Charlie Ward did it in 1992.

    "They were mixing up looks and bringing in blitzes from everywhere and he made plays when he had to," said Florida State head coach Jimbo Fisher. "But I thought he was extremely selfless and understood how to win. I was very proud of him."

    The Seminoles will try to protect their perfect 4-0 record as they head out on the road for the first time this season to take on the USF Bulls in Raymond James Stadium Saturday night.


    Honorable Mention for Week Four:

    Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, Big East

    Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12

    Sean Mannion, Oregon State, Pac-12

    Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC

    Gary Nova, Rutgers, Big East

    Geno Smith, West Virginia, Big 12

    Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC

    During the first eight weeks of the season, a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 124 FBS quarterbacks are candidates for the award until semifinalists are announced Oct. 22. Finalists will be announced Nov. 19 and the 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced Dec. 6.

    About the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote

    Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as once daily at The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 6 on ESPN and will be honored at the 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

    About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

    The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

    FSU on YouTube