Rotating image8

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    Bowden recipient of Football Bowl Association Champions Award

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks

    Courtesy of the Football Bowl Association:

    NEW ORLEANS (FBA) - Tina Kunzer-Murphy, Chair of the Football Bowl Association and Executive Director of the MAACO Bowl Las Vegas, today announced that the 2012 recipient of the Football Bowl Association Champions Award is former Florida State University head coach Bobby Bowden.

     The announcement of Bowden's award will be made during an on-field presentation at the Allstate BCS National Championship Game.

    "Coach Bowden roamed the sidelines at Florida State for over 30 years and led the Seminoles to an amazing 33 bowl appearances. It is my honor and privilege to present him with the FBA's Champions Award for his distinguished service and dedication to his university, his student-athletes and to postseason college football," said Kunzer-Murphy.

    Bowden retired in 2009 and finished his career second in all-time wins by a FBS coach with a record of 377-129-4. He led the Seminoles to an Associated Press and Coaches Poll National Title in 1993 and a BCS National Championship in 1999. He racked up 12 ACC championships.

    The Seminoles played in 28-straight bowl games under Bowden from 1982 through 2009. Coach Bowden led FSU to 11 different bowl games, including eight trips to the Orange Bowl, six to the Sugar Bowl and three to the Fiesta Bowl.

    During his 34 years as Florida State's head coach, he had only one losing season - his first in 1976. From 1987 to 2000, the Seminoles finished every season with at least 10 wins and in the AP Top 5.

    The Football Bowl Association Champions Award is bestowed upon an individual who has provided distinguished service to college football, with an emphasis on being a contributor to post-season football bowl games. Last year's recipient was legendary BYU coach LaVell Edwards. Other previous winners include former Pac-10 commissioner Tom Hansen and SEC commissioner Roy Kramer.

    The Football Bowl Association is made up of the 35 NCAA licensed bowl games representing 28 different communities. For more information on the FBA, visit the association's official website,

    Click here for a printable .pdf version of this release.

    No TrackBacks

    TrackBack URL:

    Leave a comment

    FSU on YouTube