Rotating image8

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    Manuel Named To Maxwell Watch List

    | No Comments | No TrackBacks

    PHILADELPHIA, Pa. -- The Maxwell Football Club announced its watch list for the 75th annual Maxwell Award, given to America's outstanding collegiate football player since 1937 and named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. 

    The watch list incorporates a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast. Returning Maxwell Award semifinalists from 2010 include Oklahoma State WR Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma WR Ryan Broyles, Baylor QB Robert Griffin, Oregon RB LaMichael James, Stanford QB Andrew Luck, Nebraska QB Taylor Martinez, Boise State QB Kellen Moore and Michigan QB Denard Robinson.

    The 2010 Maxwell Award winner, QB Cam Newton of Auburn left school early following his junior season. Newton was selected No. 1 overall in the National Football League Draft by the Carolina Panthers.

    Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 31 and the three finalists for the award will be unveiled Nov. 21. The winner of the 2011 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 8. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 2.

    The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, evaluating past performance and future potential. Additions and deletions to these lists will happen as the 2011 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the award.

    The Maxwell Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

    2011 Maxwell Award Watch List
    Edwin BakerRBMichigan StateLandry JonesQBOklahoma
    Montee BallRBWisconsinCase KeenumQBHouston
    Vick BallardRB Mississippi StateMarcus LattimoreRBSouth Carolina
    Matt BarkleyQBUSCRyan LindleyQBSan Diego State
    Justin BlackmonWROklahoma StateZach LineRBSMU
    Tyler BrayQBTennesseeAndrew LuckQBStanford
    Ryan BroylesWROklahomaE.J. ManuelQBFlorida State
    Greg ChildsQBArkansasDoug MartinRBBoise State
    Marcus CokerRBIowaTaylor MartinezQBNebraska
    Zach CollarosQBCincinnatiBryant MonizQBHawaii
    Kirk CousinsQB Michigan StateKellen MooreQBBoise State
    Juron CrinerWRArizonaAaron MurrayQBGeorgia
    Dayne CristQBNotre DameDanny O'BrienQBMaryland
    Dominique DavisQBEast CarolinaIsaiah PeadRBCincinnati
    Knile DavisRBArkansasDan PersaQBNorthwestern
    Michael DyerRBAuburnChris PolkRBWashington
    Andre EllingtonRBClemsonTauren PooleRBTennessee
    Michael FloydWRNotre DameBobby RaineyRBWestern Kentucky
    Nick FolesQBArizonaTrent RichardsonRBAlabama
    Johnathan FranklinRBUCLADenard RobinsonQBMichigan
    Jeff FullerWRTexas A&MNathan ScheelhaaseQBIllinois
    Stephen GarciaQBSouth CarolinaGeno SmithQBWest Virginia
    Mike GlennonQBNC StateRodney StewartRBColorado
    Ray GrahamRBPittsburghRyan TannehillQBTexas A&M
    Cyrus GrayRBTexas A&MStepfan TaylorRBStanford
    Robert GriffinQBBaylorDarron ThomasQBOregon
    Chandler HarnishQB Northern IllinoisBrandon WeedenQBOklahoma State
    Montel HarrisRBBoston CollegeEd WesleyRBTCU
    Jared HassinRBArmyJames WhiteRBWisconsin
    Ronnie HillmanRBSan Diego StateDavid WilsonRBVirginia Tech
    LaMichael JamesRBOregonRussell WilsonQBWisconsin
    Alshon JefferyWRSouth CarolinaTyler WilsonQBArkansas
    Damaris JohnsonWRTulsaRobert WoodsWRUSC

    No TrackBacks

    TrackBack URL:

    Leave a comment

    FSU on YouTube