Rotating image8

Shop Now

at the Official
Online Store

    Ponder Named Semifinalist For 73rd Maxwell Award

    | 2 Comments | No TrackBacks

    Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2009 Semifinalists for the 73rd Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year, and the 21st George Munger Award for College Coach of the Year. The respective lists include a field of 16 candidates for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards and 15 candidates for the Munger Award as selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee. Tim Tebow the 2007 and 2008 winner of the Maxwell Award leads an impressive list of candidates for this season's honor. In 2007 Tebow was the first sophomore ever selected as the winner of the Maxwell Award. Tebow followed up with another impressive performance in 2008 and became the second two time winner of the Maxwell Award in the Club's 73-year history. On the defensive side of the ball Alabama's standout linebacker Rolando McClain and defensive tackle Terrence Cody head up an impressive group of defensive players under consideration for this year's Bednarik Award.
    The announcement of the winners of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be made during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN on Thursday December 10, 2009. Three finalists for each award will be announced on November 23, 2009 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The Maxwell Football Club will announce the winner of the 21st George Munger Award via a press release in December. The winners of the 73rd Maxwell Award and the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on December 10, 2009.  The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner, to be held on Friday March 5, 2010 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.
    Voting for all three of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday November 4th and close on Sunday November 22nd. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.

    Semifinalists for the 73rd  Maxwell Award

    Best, Jahvid, University of California Berkley, RB, JR
    Clausen, Jimmy, Notre Dame, QB, JR
    Devine, Noel, West Virginia University, RB, JR
    Gerhart, Toby, Stanford University, RB, SR
    Ingram, Mark, University of Alabama, RB, SOPH
    Keenum, Case, University of Houston, QB, JR
    LeFevour, Dan, Central Michigan University, QB, SR
    Lewis, Dion, University of Pittsburgh, RB, FR
    Matthews, Ryan, Fresno State University, RB, JR
    McCoy, Colt, University of Texas, QB, SR
    Moore, Kellen, Boise State University, QB, SOPH
    Ponder, Christian, Florida State University, QB, JR
    Rodgers, Jacquizz, Oregon State University, RB, SOPH
    Shipley, Jordan, University of Texas, WR, SR
    Tate Golden, Notre Dame, WR, JR
    Tebow, Tim, University of Florida, QB, SR

    No TrackBacks

    TrackBack URL:


    Congrats, Christian! Well deserved.

    Finally some national attention for CP! I guess someone really is paying attention to those amazing stats... He definitely earned the nom.
    Couldn't be more proud to be a Nole!!

    Leave a comment

    2012 Football Season Tickets