Florida State Athletics

Florida State Dominates 2017 All-ACC Awards

Seminoles.com | May 11, 2017

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – After a season that saw Florida State post a perfect 24-0 record against conference opponents, the Seminoles were well represented on the 2017 All-ACC teams and individual awards, as FSU received 12 different accolades as announced by the league on Thursday morning.

Junior Jessica Warren became the eighth different Seminole to be named ACC Player of the Year and also earned the conference's first Defensive Player of the Year honor. Redshirt senior Jessica Burroughs earned ACC Pitcher of the Year accolades for the second year in a row, as Florida State has had the conference best pitcher for each of the last four seasons. Both Warren and Burroughs were named a Top 10 Finalist for the 2017 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award, as well.

Head coach Lonni Alameda secured her fifth ACC Coach of the Year award, moving her into a tie with Donna J. Papa of UNC for second-most in ACC history. Alameda now only trails FSU's JoAnne Graf who had six ACC Coach of the Year awards in her NFCA Hall of Fame career. 

The Seminoles tied their own conference record by placing six members on the All-ACC First Team (Warren, Burroughs, Sydney Broderick, Morgan Klaevemann, Meghan King, Alex Powers), while Cali Harrod was selected to the All-ACC Second Team and Dani Morgan earned a spot on the All-ACC Freshman Team.

“All of these awards can basically be team awards,” said Alameda. “While each individual has put in their own work and effort to be the best they can be, the majority of the reason that any of them have been successful is because of the players to their left and right. Warren can't drive in runs if there's no one on base, JB can't trust her pitches if there isn't a defense behind her and this coaching staff would not be what we are without the entire team – 1 through 21 – fighting for each and every pitch and staying present in the moment.”

Follow Florida State softball on Twitter (@FSU_Softball) and Instagram (fsusoftball), and like our Facebook page (Facebook.com/FSUsoftball) to keep up to date with everything about Seminole softball.    




2017 All-ACC Teams and Awards
Player of the Year – Jessica Warren, Florida State
Pitcher of the Year – Jessica Burroughs, Florida State
Defensive Player of the Year – Jessica Warren, Florida State
Freshman of the Year – Brittany Pickett, North Carolina
Coach of the Year – Lonni Alameda, Florida State

First Team
Chloe Sharabba, Boston College
Jessica Dreswick, Boston College
Jessica Warren, Florida State
Jessica Burroughs, Florida State
Morgan Klaevemann, Florida State
Alex Powers, Florida State
Meghan King, Florida State
Sydney Broderick, Florida State
Tyler Ross, NC State
Brittany Pickett, North Carolina
Karley Wester, Notre Dame
Ali Wester, Notre Dame
Sydney O'Hara, Syracuse
Alicia Hansen, Syracuse
Katie Park, Virginia

Second Team
Annie Murphy, Boston College
Tatiana Cortez, Boston College
Cali Harrod, Florida State
Nicole Pufahl, Louisville
Maryssa Becker, Louisville
Morgan Meyer, Louisville
Jordan McNary, Louisville
Jade Caraway, NC State
Kendra Lynch, North Carolina
Taylor Wike, North Carolina
Leah Murray, North Carolina
Morgan Reed, Notre Dame
Melissa Rochford, Notre Dame
Kaitlin Fitzgerald, Virginia
Breanna Davenport, Virginia Tech

All-Freshman Team
Dani Morgan, Florida State
Caitlin Ferguson, Louisville
Jade Caraway, NC State
Peyton Silverman, NC State
Brittany Pickett, North Carolina
Valerie Ortega, Pitt
Alexa Romero, Syracuse
Carrie Eberle, Virginia Tech



Uploaded Ad
Noles Fall to Tigers
Noles Fall to Tigers
LSU Forces Game Three in Tallahassee Super Regional
LSU Forces Game Three in Tallahassee Super Regional
Sixth Inning Hits Give Noles Game One Win
Sixth Inning Hits Give Noles Game One Win


Uploaded Ad