stop
2010 Schedule Announced
Courtesy: Seminoles.com
Release: 06/28/2010
Send Mail Print RSS
Related Links

June 28, 2010

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - The Florida State women's soccer program has ranked among the nation's best over the last five seasons with trips to the College Cup in three of the last five years including five consecutive trips to the NCAA Quarterfinals.

Since the arrival of head coach Mark Krikorian in 2005, the Seminoles have posted a combined record of 92-22-12 and have finished no lower than second place in the ACC in each of the last five seasons. The Seminoles will look to defend their ACC regular season championship from a season ago, finishing atop the league standings with Boston College, for the first time in school history.

Heading into the 2010 season, the expectations once again remain high as Krikorian and the Seminoles have their sights set on a berth in the College Cup in Cary, N.C., December 3-5.

The quest for the school's first national championship begins in Pullman, Wash., on Friday, August 20 as the Seminoles will face Washington State in the season opener. The Seminoles will then face Gonzaga two days later on the second day of the Washington State Tournament.

Florida State faces Stetson in the home opener on August 29 at 2:00 p.m., in the first of nine home matches played inside the Seminole Soccer Complex in 2010.

Eleven teams on this year's schedule recorded 10 or more wins a season ago. Eleven schools earned a bid to participate in the 2009 NCAA Tournament, while six of those teams played into the third round.

"We are really excited about this year's schedule," said head coach Mark Krikorian. "We have a collection of teams that historically play in the NCAA Tournament year after year which I feel will certainly present a challenge for us. We look forward to another challenging year in the ACC and we feel our non-conference schedule will do a good job in getting us ready for that tough 10-game stretch. We also have some true road tests early in the season which I hope will prepare our team for the stretch run late in the year."

Other non-conference opponents include home matches against Florida, UCF and Arkansas and road matches at Auburn and Mercer.

FSU will once again close out the season with 10 straight ACC matches leading up to the ACC Tournament beginning November 3 at the WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C. The Seminoles open conference play on the road in Coral Gables against the Miami Hurricanes on Sunday, September 26. Other road contests for the Garnet and Gold in league play include matches at defending national champion North Carolina, NC State, Maryland and Boston College. Home matches feature Wake Forest, Duke, Clemson, Virginia and Virginia Tech.

2010 Florida State Soccer Schedule
Friday, August 20 - at Washington State, 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, August 22 - vs. Gonzaga, 2:00 p.m.
Sunday, August 29 - Stetson, 2:00 p.m.
Friday, September 3 - at Auburn, 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 5 - at Mercer, 1:00 p.m.
Friday, September 10 - Florida, 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 12 - UCF, 1:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 19 - Arkansas, 1:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 26 - at Miami, 12:00 p.m.
Thursday, September 30 - Wake Forest, 7:00 p.m.
Friday, October 3 - Duke, 1:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 7 - Clemson, 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 14 - at North Carolina, 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, October 17 - at NC State, 1:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 21 - Virginia, 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, October 24 - Virginia Tech, 1:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 28 - at Maryland, 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, October 31 - at Boston College, 1:00 p.m.
Wednesday - Sunday, November 3-7, 2010 - ACC Tournament
(Cary, N.C. - WakeMed Soccer Park)
**All Match Times are EST** (Bold denotes home match)

www.seminoles.com

Stay Connected
Uploaded Ad
Stub Hub
Shop
Ask Coach